top of page

​​CLE Meetings


Noon CLE meetings are typically held at the Belo Mansion on the fourth Thursday of every month (with some exceptions).  

For in person/live meetings, the members usually participate in a pre-meeting network activity 30 minutes before the CLE presentation begins.

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

 DBA IP Section

North Dallas CLE

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

8-9 AM (1 hr. CLE, .5 Ethics)

Location: Blue Mesa,

8200 Dallas Parkway,

Plano, TX 75024

"Strategies for Drafting Claims and Ethics in Patent Prosecution "

Moderator: Srini Chakravarthi, Slater Matsil LLP

Description:  Table discussions regarding claim strategies for overcoming potential section 112 and 101 rejections for a hypothetical invention. We will review several hypothetical claims designed as working problems so that practitioner can have lively and informative conversations with their peers.  In addition, we will discuss related ethical issues common to prosecution. 

US PTO AI/ET Partnership Series: AI-Driven Innovation

Arts District Mansion

Dallas, Texas

Wednesday, February 8

The Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Emerging Technologies (ET) Partnership Series will hold its next meeting virtually and on Wednesday, February 8.  Program Link.

During the event, panelists from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and diverse stakeholders from academia, industry, and law firms will explore various IP policy issues with respect to AI-driven innovation. The meeting will also include a public listening session.

Register Here.

This meeting is held in collaboration with Dallas Bar Association (DBA) Intellectual Property (IP) section and State Bar of Texas IP section.

DBAIP Logo Final RGB_edited.png

April 27, 2023 CLE 

Noon, Hybrid (CLE Credit: 1.00 hr)

Panel Discussion:  "Judging the Middle Ground: Thoughts on Successful Mediation by Former Members of the Bench"  Speakers:  Judge David  Folsom (Ret.) and Judge Royal Furgeson (Ret.), with Matt Acosta, Platt Cheema Richmond PLLC

Description:  Former District Judges-turned-mediators offer their insight on the keys for successful mediation and the pitfalls that they have witnessed among lawyers and clients.  Topics will include the role of a mediation statement, non-monetary versus monetary terms, negotiating difficult parties and lawyers, and general tips for attorneys to reach a satisfactory resolution.

bottom of page