david taylor senate testimony.JPG
Chair

David O. Taylor

Southern Methodist University

Dedman School of Law

Storey Hall, Room 200

3315 Daniel Avenue

Dallas, TX 75275

Phone: 214.768.1685

Email: dotaylor@smu.edu

cohen_justin_web.jpeg

Treasurer

Justin Cohen

Thompson & Knight

1722 Routh St., Suite 1500

Dallas, TX 75201

Justin.cohen@tklaw.com

Past Chairs

1994-1995 Harold E. Meier

1996 Thomas R. Felger

1997 Molly Buck Richard

1998 Herbert J. Hammond

1999 W. Thomas Timmons

2000 Steven W. Smith

2001 Robert M. Chiaviello

2002 Patrick F. McGowan

2003 David L. McCombs

2004 Stanley R. Moore

2005 Elisabeth A. Evert

2006 Michael D. Pegues

2007 Kevin J. Meek

2008 John M. Cone

2009 William R. Cohrs

2010 Randall C. Brown

2011 Max Ciccarelli

2012 Hilda Galvan

2013 Sue Windham

2014 Wei Wei Jeang

2015 Scott Breedlove

2016 Bradley P. Williams

2017 Marc Hubbard

2018 Colin Cahoon

2019 Shannon Bates

2020 Scott Hemingway

2021 Robert H. Johnston, III

dallas_house_dyan_57169.jpg
Vice Chair

Dyan M. House

Baker & McKenzie LLP

1900 North Pearl Street 

Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

Phone: 214-978-3090

dyan.house@bakermckenzie.com

Immediate Past Chair

Robert H. Johnston III

R. Johnson Law, PLLC
1722 Routh St., Suite 900
Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: 214-396-6000
Email: rjohnston@johnstonip.com

New Lawyers Group

 

Officers:

Pres. - Matthew Cornelia 

             McGuire Woods

Vice Pres. - David Ashton 

             Patterson Sheridan

Treas. – Krista Chan 

             Texas Instruments

Secr. - Bethany Salpietra 

             Baker Botts

Imm. Past Pres. – Reshaun Finkley  

             Townsend Lockett

 

Members:

Jeff Becker, Baker Botts

Tiffany Cooke, Haynes and Boone

Anthony McCain, Dentons

Harrison Rich, Baker Botts

Ozz Siddiq, Lennox International

Daniel Withers, McGuire Woods

CLE

Noon CLE meetings are typically held on the fourth Thursday of every month (with some exceptions).

 

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

Secretary

Megan Hoyt

Briefing Attorney

Western District of Texas

501 W. 5th St.
Austin, TX 78701

Phone: (214) 923-4144

Email:megan.d.hoyt@gmail.com

Directors

Kirby Drake

Kirby Drake Law

kirby@kirbydrakelaw.com

Dwayne Norton

Toyota North America

Dwayne.norton@toyota.com

John Tower

Hitchcock Evert

john@hitchcockevert.com

Matt Acosta

Platt Cheema Richmond

macosta@pcrfirm.com

 

James Gourley

Carstens & Cahoon, LLP

gourley@cclaw.com

 

Tim Dyll

AT&T Services, Inc.

td180d@att.com

Niky Bagley

Cole Schotz, PC

nbagley@coleschotz.com

Stephanie Sivinski

Haynes Boone

stephanie.sivinski@haynesboone.com

Marylauren Ilagan

Olaplex, Inc.

marylauren.ilagan@gmail.com

Craig C. Carpenter

Baker Hostetler

ccarpenter@bakerlaw.com

Webmaster

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

 

U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG

press to zoom
1024px-Oscilloscope_sine_square.jpg
1024px-Oscilloscope_sine_square.jpg

By Xato (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

press to zoom
Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by S
Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by S

Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by Stephen Foster

press to zoom
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG

press to zoom
1/16

Thursday, September 22, 2022 

(Noon, Arts Dist. Mansion and Zoom)

CLE Credit: 1.00 hr

“From Start-Up to Scale-Up to IPO—Patent Prosecution and
Portfolio Management for Growth-Oriented High-Tech Companies”

Speaker:  Michael K. Henry, Ph.D., Henry Patent Law Firm PLLC

Working with a rapidly growing company presents a unique set of IP challenges, such as helping the client develop a patent portfolio.  To do this, procedures and expertise with the patent process are needed inside the company, and outside counsel are often relied upon to provide training, support and strategic advice.  In this presentation, the speaker will review his experiences of working with venture-backed tech startups, including experiences with building a patent portfolio that can support a successful acquisition or IPO.