top of page

Chair

Megan Hoyt

Senior Corporate Counsel

HomeVestors of America, Inc.

6500 Greenville Ave., Suite 400
Dallas, TX 75206

megan.hoyt@homevestors.com

cohen_justin_web.jpeg

Vice Chair

Justin Cohen

Thompson & Knight

1722 Routh St., Suite 1500

Dallas, TX 75201

Justin.cohen@tklaw.com

CLE

Noon CLE meetings are typically held at the Belo Mansion on the fourth Thursday of every month (with some exceptions).  

For in person/live meetings, the members usually participate in a pre-meeting network activity 30 minutes before the CLE presentation begins.

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

Secretary

John T. Tower

Hitchcock Evert

750 North St. Paul Street
Suite 1110
Dallas, Texas 75201

john@hitchcockevert.com

Kirby-13-of-1-1-800x800.jpg

Treasurer

Kirby Drake

Kirby Drake Law

3904A Elm Street

Dallas, TX 75226

kirby@kirbydrakelaw.com

Past Chairs

1994-1995 Harold E. Meier

1996 Thomas R. Felger

1997 Molly Buck Richard

1998 Herbert J. Hammond

1999 W. Thomas Timmons

2000 Steven W. Smith

2001 Robert M. Chiaviello

2002 Patrick F. McGowan

2003 David L. McCombs

2004 Stanley R. Moore

2005 Elisabeth A. Evert

2006 Michael D. Pegues

2007 Kevin J. Meek

2008 John M. Cone

2009 William R. Cohrs

2010 Randall C. Brown

2011 Max Ciccarelli

2012 Hilda Galvan

2013 Sue Windham

2014 Wei Wei Jeang

2015 Scott Breedlove

2016 Bradley P. Williams

2017 Marc Hubbard

2018 Colin Cahoon

2019 Shannon Bates

2020 Scott Hemingway

2021 Robert H. Johnston, III

2022 David O. Taylor

2023 Dyan M. House

dallas_house_dyan_57169.jpg

Immediate Past Chair

Dyan M. House

Baker & McKenzie LLP

1900 North Pearl Street 

Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

dyan.house@bakermckenzie.com

Young Lawyers Committee

                          Officers

Chair:

Bethany Salpietra - Baker Botts

Bethany.Salpietra@bakerbotts.com

Vice Chair: 

Daniel Withers - McGuire Woods  

DWithers@mcguirewoods.com

Treasurer: 

Lucy Soyinka – Baker Botts

lucy.soyinka@bakerbotts.com

Secretary:

Jordyn Hendrix – Harper & Bates LLP

jordyn.hendrix@harperbates.com

Community Outreach Coordinator:

Casey Shomaker – McKool Smith

cshomaker@mckoolsmith.com

Immediate Past President:

David Ashton - Patterson Sheridan

DAshton@pattersonsheridan.com

Directors

Matt Acosta

Platt Cheema Richmond

macosta@pcrfirm.com

Tim Dyll

AT&T Services, Inc.

td180d@att.com

Niky Bagley

Toyota Motor North America, Inc.

Niky.Bagley@Toyota.com

Stephanie Sivinski

Haynes Boone

stephanie.sivinski@haynesboone.com

Marylauren Ilagan

Olaplex, Inc.

marylauren.ilagan@gmail.com

Craig C. Carpenter

Baker Hostetler

ccarpenter@bakerlaw.com

 

Ozz Siddiq

Lennox International

Ozz.Siddiq@Lennoxintl.com

Jeff Becker

Baker Botts

Jeff.Becker@BakerBotts.com 

Scott Harper

Harper Bates LLP

Scott.Harper@HarperBates.com

Srini Chakravarthi

Slater Matsil, LLP
schakravarthi@slatermatsil
.com

Webmaster

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

 

March 28, 2024 (Noon ADM, In Person)

"The Trademark Trial and Appeal Board from January 2023 to Date

Presenter: John Cone, Ferguson Braswell Fraser Kubasta PC

The presentation will discuss decisions of the TTAB in both ex parte and inter partes proceedings on issues including priority of rights, distinctiveness of marks, likelihood of confusion, cancellation of registrations based on fraud and failure to function as a trademark.

bottom of page