top of page
dallas_house_dyan_57169.jpg

Chair

Dyan M. House

Baker & McKenzie LLP

1900 North Pearl Street 

Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

Phone: 214-978-3090

dyan.house@bakermckenzie.com

Vice Chair

Megan Hoyt

Senior Corporate Counsel

HomeVestors of America, Inc.

6500 Greenville Ave., Suite 400
Dallas, TX 75206

Phone: (469) 289-1755

megan.hoyt@homevestors.com

CLE

Noon CLE meetings are typically held at the Belo Mansion on the fourth Thursday of every month (with some exceptions).  

For in person/live meetings, the members usually participate in a pre-meeting network activity 30 minutes before the CLE presentation begins.

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

cohen_justin_web.jpeg

Secretary

Justin Cohen

Thompson & Knight

1722 Routh St., Suite 1500

Dallas, TX 75201

Justin.cohen@tklaw.com

david taylor senate testimony.JPG

Treasurer

John T. Tower

Hitchcock Evert

750 North St. Paul Street
Suite 1110
Dallas, Texas 75201

Tel: 214.953.1135
Fax: 214.953.1121

john@hitchcockevert.com

Immediate Past Chair

David O. Taylor

Southern Methodist University

Dedman School of Law

Storey Hall, Room 200

3315 Daniel Avenue

Dallas, TX 75275

Phone: 214.768.1685

Email: dotaylor@smu.edu

Past Chairs

1994-1995 Harold E. Meier

1996 Thomas R. Felger

1997 Molly Buck Richard

1998 Herbert J. Hammond

1999 W. Thomas Timmons

2000 Steven W. Smith

2001 Robert M. Chiaviello

2002 Patrick F. McGowan

2003 David L. McCombs

2004 Stanley R. Moore

2005 Elisabeth A. Evert

2006 Michael D. Pegues

2007 Kevin J. Meek

2008 John M. Cone

2009 William R. Cohrs

2010 Randall C. Brown

2011 Max Ciccarelli

2012 Hilda Galvan

2013 Sue Windham

2014 Wei Wei Jeang

2015 Scott Breedlove

2016 Bradley P. Williams

2017 Marc Hubbard

2018 Colin Cahoon

2019 Shannon Bates

2020 Scott Hemingway

2021 Robert H. Johnston, III

2022 David O. Taylor

Young Lawyers Committee

                          Officers

Chair:

David Ashton - Patterson Sheridan

DAshton@pattersonsheridan.com

Vice Chair: 

Krista Chan - Texas Instruments, Inc.

kchan@ti.com

Treasurer: 

Bethany Salpietra - Baker Botts

Bethany.Salpietra@bakerbotts.com

Secretary:

Daniel Withers - McGuire Woods  

DWithers@mcguirewoods.com

Immediate Past President:

Matthew Cornelia - McGuire Woods 

MCornelia@mcguirewoods.com

Directors

Kirby Drake

Kirby Drake Law

kirby@kirbydrakelaw.com

Matt Acosta

Platt Cheema Richmond

macosta@pcrfirm.com

 

Tim Dyll

AT&T Services, Inc.

td180d@att.com

Niky Bagley

Cole Schotz, PC

nbagley@coleschotz.com

Stephanie Sivinski

Haynes Boone

stephanie.sivinski@haynesboone.com

Marylauren Ilagan

Olaplex, Inc.

marylauren.ilagan@gmail.com

Craig C. Carpenter

Baker Hostetler

ccarpenter@bakerlaw.com

 

Ozz Siddiq

Lennox International

Ozz.Siddiq@Lennoxintl.com

Jeff Becker

Baker Botts

Jeff.Becker@BakerBotts.com 

Scott Harper

Harper Bates LLP

Scott.Harper@HarperBates.com

 

Webmaster

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

 

U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG

press to zoom
1024px-Oscilloscope_sine_square.jpg
1024px-Oscilloscope_sine_square.jpg

By Xato (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

press to zoom
Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by S
Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by S

Sheet music: "Beauiful Dreamer" by Stephen Foster

press to zoom
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG
U.S._Courthouse_(Sam_Hall)_in_Marshall,_TX_IMG_2333.JPG

press to zoom
1/16

Thursday, January 26, 2023 

(Noon, Hybrid) CLE Credit: 1.00 hr

"Apportionment in Patent Damage Calculations,"

Speakers: Bethany Salpietra and Jeff Becker, both of Baker Botts. 

In recent years, juries have awarded patent owners increasingly large damages, only for the Federal Circuit Court to overturn these awards for lack of apportionment. This presentation explores how to apportion patent damages by providing an overview of relevant Federal Circuit decisions. Join us for a deep dive discussion concerning how to apportion damages for a patented invention, including an overview of how apportionment impacts the reasonable royalty analysis and what the Federal Circuit considers a sufficiently comparable license.

bottom of page