​​​​Copyright 2019 DBA IP Section. All rights reserved. Photo credits: Wikimedia Commons.

Chair

Shannon Bates

Harper Bates & Champion LLC
1717 Main St, Suite 3550
Dallas, TX 75201
Ph. 214.238.8403 ​
Email: shannon.bates@
harperbates.com

Treasurer

David O. Taylor

Southern Methodist University

Dedman School of Law

Storey Hall, Room 200

3315 Daniel Avenue

Dallas, TX 75275

Phone: 214.768.1685

Email: dotaylor@smu.edu

Past Chairs

1994-1995 Harold E. Meier

1996 Thomas R. Felger

1997 Molly Buck Richard

1998 Herbert J. Hammond

1999 W. Thomas Timmons

2000 Steven W. Smith

2001 Robert M. Chiaviello

2002 Patrick F. McGowan

2003 David L. McCombs

2004 Stanley R. Moore

2005 Elisabeth A. Evert

2006 Michael D. Pegues

2007 Kevin J. Meek

2008 John M. Cone

2009 William R. Cohrs

2010 Randall C. Brown

2011 Max Ciccarelli

2012 Hilda Galvan

2013 Sue Windham

2014 Wei Wei Jeang

2015 Scott Breedlove

2016 Bradley P. Williams

2017 Marc Hubbard

Vice Chair

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

CLE

Noon CLE meetings are typically held on the fourth Friday of every month (with some exceptions).

 

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

Secretary

Robert H. Johnston III

R. Johnson Law, PLLC
1722 Routh St., Suite 900
Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: 214-396-6000
Email: rjohnston@johnstonip.com

Immediate Past Chair

Colin Cahoon

Carstens & Cahoon, LLP

13760 Noel Road, Suite 900

Dallas, TX 75240

Phone: 972.367.2001

Email: cahoon@cclaw.com

 

Young Lawyers Committee

President:

Stephanie Sivinski

Haynes and Boone

 

Vice President:

Ozz Siddiq

Lennox International

 

Treasurer:

Lon Outland

AT&T

Secretary:

Krista Chan

Patterson Sheridan

 

Immediate Past President:

Sophilia Wu

Winston & Strawn

Webmaster

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

 

Directors

 

Justin Cohen

Thompson & Knight

Justin.cohen@tklaw.com

Kirby Drake

Klemchuk LLP

Kirby.drake@klemchuk.com

Russ Emerson

Haynes & Boone

russ.emerson@haynesboone.com

Dyan M. House

Baker & McKenzie LLP
dyan.house@bakermckenzie.com

Megan Hoyt

Dallas Regional Office

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office

megan.hoyt@uspto.gov

Brian McCormack

Baker & McKenzie LLP

brian.mccormack@

bakermckenzie.com

Dwayne Norton

Toyota North America

Dwayne.norton@toyota.com

Elizabeth Rucki

Baker Botts L.L.P.

elizabeth.rucki@bakerbotts.com

John Tower

Hitchcock Evert

john@hitchcockevert.com

Betty Ungerman

Lennox International

betty.ungerman@lennoxintl.com

2020 Proposed Slate of Officers and Directors

Officers

Chair – D. Scott Hemingway

Vice Chair – Robert Johnston

Secretary – David O. Taylor

Treasurer - Dyan House

Directors

Elizabeth Rucki

Brian C. McCormack

Justin Cohen

Dwayne Norton

Megan Hoyt

Kirby Drake

John Tower

Sushil Iyer

Tim Dyll

James Gourley

Immediate Past Chair

Shannon W. Bates

 

Next CLE:  Dec. 5 (Belo)

Copyright Trial Perspectives:

DynaStudy, Inc. v. Houston Independent School District

The presentation will cover aspects of trial for copyright and DMCA cases, including voir dire strategy, witness examinations, how to present statutory damages evidence to a jury, insights from trial from the perspectives of both parties, and closing argument strategies when statutory damages for copyright and DMCA are at issue.