Chair

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

Treasurer

Dyan M. House

Baker & McKenzie LLP

1900 North Pearl Street 

Suite 1500

Dallas, Texas 75201

Phone: 214-978-3090

dyan.house@bakermckenzie.com

Past Chairs

1994-1995 Harold E. Meier

1996 Thomas R. Felger

1997 Molly Buck Richard

1998 Herbert J. Hammond

1999 W. Thomas Timmons

2000 Steven W. Smith

2001 Robert M. Chiaviello

2002 Patrick F. McGowan

2003 David L. McCombs

2004 Stanley R. Moore

2005 Elisabeth A. Evert

2006 Michael D. Pegues

2007 Kevin J. Meek

2008 John M. Cone

2009 William R. Cohrs

2010 Randall C. Brown

2011 Max Ciccarelli

2012 Hilda Galvan

2013 Sue Windham

2014 Wei Wei Jeang

2015 Scott Breedlove

2016 Bradley P. Williams

2017 Marc Hubbard

2018 Colin Cahoon

2019 Shannon Bates

Vice Chair

Robert H. Johnston III

R. Johnson Law, PLLC
1722 Routh St., Suite 900
Dallas, TX 75201
Phone: 214-396-6000
Email: rjohnston@johnstonip.com

CLE

Noon CLE meetings are typically held on the fourth Friday of every month (with some exceptions).

 

We also host periodic breakfast CLE roundtable discussions at a North Dallas location on important IP topics.

Secretary

David O. Taylor

Southern Methodist University

Dedman School of Law

Storey Hall, Room 200

3315 Daniel Avenue

Dallas, TX 75275

Phone: 214.768.1685

Email: dotaylor@smu.edu

Immediate Past Chair

Shannon Bates

Harper Bates & Champion LLC

1717 Main St, Suite 3550
Dallas, TX 75201

Ph. 214.238.8403 ​

Email: shannon.bates@

harperbates.com​

Young Lawyers Committee

Officers:  

President - Jeff Becker Baker Botts LLP

Vice President - Reshaun Finkley Townsend Lockett

Secretary - Krista Chan Patterson & Sheridan

Treasurer - Matt Cornelia McGuire Woods

Members:

Madeleine Shroyer  Maddrey PLLC

Stephanie Sivinski  Haynes & Boone

Mery Pimentel  AGC Susan G. Komen

Sophilia Wu  Baker & Hostetler LLP

Austin Champion  Harper Bates & Champion LLC

Craig Carpenter  Thompson & Knight 

Harrison Rich  Baker Botts LLP

David Ashton  Patterson & Sheridan

Anthony McCain  Dentons   

Lon Outland  AT&T

Ozz Siddiq  Lennox International

Chelsie Spencer  Ritter Spencer

Tiffany Cooke  Haynes & Boone

Directors

 

Justin Cohen

Thompson & Knight

Justin.cohen@tklaw.com

Kirby Drake

Klemchuk LLP

Kirby.drake@klemchuk.com

Megan Hoyt

Dallas Regional Office

U.S. Patent & Trademark Office

megan.hoyt@uspto.gov

Brian McCormack

Baker & McKenzie LLP

brian.mccormack@

bakermckenzie.com

Dwayne Norton

Toyota North America

Dwayne.norton@toyota.com

Elizabeth Rucki

Baker Botts L.L.P.

elizabeth.rucki@bakerbotts.com

John Tower

Hitchcock Evert

john@hitchcockevert.com

Matt Acosta

Platt Cheema Richmond

macosta@pcrfirm.com

 

James Gourley

Carstens & Cahoon, LLP

gourley@cclaw.com

 

Tim Dyll

AT&T Services, Inc.

td180d@att.com

Webmaster

D. Scott Hemingway

Hemingway & Hansen LLP

1700 Pacific Avenue, Suite 4800

Dallas, TX 75201

Phone: 214.292.8301

Email: shemingway@hh-iplaw.com

 

Next CLE:  May 28 (Noon, Virtual TK Webex)

Topic:  “Tips for Prosecuting in View of Litigation/What Litigators

Want to See in a Patent” (CLE, 1.00 hr)  Speaker: Vishal Patel of Thompson & Knight LLP

       The prosecution of a patent usually takes place before robust markets for the technology exist, and long before the resulting patent is involved in litigation. This presentation will address several strategies in the patenting process that may help maximize the value of the patent portfolio when asserted years later.  

        If you wish to participate, you need only join the CLE program at the TK Webex video/tele  link provided below at the time of the CLE program.  This is an updated link from the prior link provided, and the Host, Access Code, and Event Password are provided below (as well as a conference call-in number if you want to participate by phone).  When it's time, join the Webex videoconference event here[Host: TK Events (tk.events@tklaw.com), Event number (access code): 967 174 028, Event password: k4GDnHZgC24, Join audio conference: 1 (408) 418 - 9388.]

​​​​Copyright 2019 DBA IP Section. All rights reserved. Photo credits: Wikimedia Commons.

1024px-Oscilloscope_sine_square.jpg

By Xato (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons